Welcome to the ISTRO website

On this site you will find information about the International Soil Tillage Research Organisation (ISTRO), which focusses on the impact and consequences of various soil tillage (including no-till) practices and from field traffic. More information about the organisation itself can be found on the organisation page. 

Activities organised by ISTRO and other organisations concerning soil tillage can be found on the activities page. 
Further information about recent publications are found on the publications page.


Following an internal procedure in the ISTRO Board, the new President Elect of ISTRO was chosen. From the two strong candidates, Prof. Danijel Jug was appointed as President Elect. Prof. Lingling Li had also been nominated as regular board member of ISTRO. You can find her on the ballot for 2024, as detailed below. We congratulate Danijel with his new position as president elect and wish him good luck in his task.



 New President Elect Prof. Danijel Jug

After the ISTRO 2024 conference in September, three vacant positions at the ISTRO board will be filled. For the 2024 ballet, ISTR0 members are invited to cast their votes by email; the procedure is explained at the end of this news item.

We are happy to announce that we have four strong candidates for the three open positions for the ISTR0 Board. The candidates represent the following countries: Argentina, India, Nigeria and China; two ladies and two gentlemen. Dr. Silvia lmhoff, Argentina; Dr. Ranjan Bhattacharyya, India; Professor Azikiwe Peter 0nwualu, Nigeria; Professor Lingling Li, China. The 3 elected members for the open Board positions will replace Professor Danijel Jug (Croatia) and Professor Guillermo Siri-Prieto (Uruguay) who are serving until the ISTRO 2024 conference in Virginia Beach.

candidate board
   Dr. Silvia Imhoff  
candidate board 
member Dr. Ranjan
candidate board
member Prof. Azikiwe
Peter Onwualu
 candidate board 
 Prof. Lingling Li 


Voting procedure

To vote for the 3 regular board positions, send an email to Secretary-General Lars J. Munkholm (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.) with subject heading: 'ISTRO ballot 2024'.
In the text state your name, membership number (if known) and your country. Then state the names of your three preferred candidates. All votes received will be acknowledged.

Voting will close at midnight on 29 February 2024 !

Only votes from ISTRO members whose membership is up-to-date will be counted – so please ensure you membership dues have been paid.
To pay your dues, please contact Treasurer Steve Prior (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.).